Turning to the Book of Common Prayer…

CledaFirst thing this morning my friend Sheila called to share good news and bad news.

Good news, her husband had surgery this morning and everything went really well – even better than she hoped. Thanks be to God!

Bad news, her mother has taken ill. Could I go check on her? By golly you betcha!

Cleda  is a dear friend, I’m ashamed to say that this is the only picture I have of her. She is 74, owns and runs the Mossyrock Flea Market and is a (nearly) unstoppable dynamo of energy and initiative. When I grow up I want to be just like her.

Cleda was hospitalized earlier this year with  pneumonia and she’s coughing again, which has us worried. Please send up a prayer for her. Cleda’s a true treasure and a beautiful child of God…and she’s my friend and I love her and I’m worried.

I turned to The Common Book of Prayer to help me find the words to form my plea:

For a Sick Person
O Father of mercies and God of all comfort, our only help in time of need: We humbly beseech thee to behold, visit, and relieve thy sick servant Cleda for whom our prayers are desired. Look upon her with the eyes of thy mercy; comfort her with a sense of thy goodness; preserve her from the temptations of the enemy; and give her patience under her affliction. In thy good time, restore her to health, and enable her to lead the residue of her life in thy fear, and to thy glory; and grant that finally she may dwell with thee in life everlasting; through Jesus Christ our Lord.  Amen.

And this prayer, for “use by a Sick Person”:

In the Morning
This is another day, O Lord. I know not what it will bring forth, but make me ready, Lord, for whatever it may be. If I am to stand up, help  me to stand bravely. If I am to sit still, help me to sit quietly. If I am to lie low, help me to do it patiently. And if I am to do nothing, let me do it gallantly. Make these words more than words, and give me the Spirit of Jesus. Amen.

Beautiful words, just beautiful!

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 18, 2009.

One Response to “Turning to the Book of Common Prayer…”

  1. The Book of Common Prayer really does have some very beautiful prayers… and my prayers ascend for Cleda as well.

Leave a Reply

 
