Even while my roof is leaking, I love the rain…

23LoveEbbandFlow

Yes, even while my roof is leaking, I love the rain.

The sound of the rain – outside – brings me softly and quietly to the present moment. The sound slows my swirling thoughts and awakens a gratitude for the simple pleasures of warmth and comfort. The rain reminds me to stop doing and just be for a moment.

And the sound of the rain – inside – brings me running into the present moment. Nothing else matters until I attend to the drip, drop, drip from my ceiling to my floor. Nothing else matters. All deadlines and details and worries vanish, nothing else matters until I have cared for the immediate, demanding drip of my beloved rain. No time to curse, no time to blame or think or direct. I must act and do and strive, NOW.

Same rain, two ways to provide instruction for a willing student.

~ by Kimberly Mason on October 23, 2009.

6 Responses to “Even while my roof is leaking, I love the rain…”

  1. It’s pouring here today too. I actually didn’t mind my dark wet commute this morning – I was enjoying my book on tape. Then I locked my keys in my car. Sigh. Thank goodness for AAA. They’re on the way. And I’m dry inside my office while I wait for them…

  2. Love the quote Kim. Hope the leaky gets fixed… raining here too. Have a beautiful weekend.

  3. Just read your other blog about shopping with your daughter and wanted to say how blessed you are. To have a relationship where your adult daughter likes to spend time with you is AWESOME!! (My daughter is sixteen and though I think she will make it to adulthood- one can never be too sure- I am pretty sure she will see spending time with me a drudgery!)

    Kudos to you for making the world a more peaceful and peicefilled place-quilters are indeed a unique breed.

  4. I agree! cannot believe that this was happening these days. I am very happy I am not jogging. We would love to help answer about the future. I will want to know this new development to this.

  5. I totally agree! I still am amazed that this happened these days. I was glad I am not running. I would love to are coming to terms for the future. I will want to know this evolving issue in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
