Words for Silence

What do you say to a friend that has lost their best friend?

02MyBuddy

Are there words to fill the silence, the empty place in your heart and in your home? I don’t know. I don’t think I’ll ever know.

To my friend who lost her friend Indie: Buddy and I are really sorry for your loss. I’m sure Indie was very grateful to have you as her caregiver and friend.

While I was doing a little cleaning up this morning I came across a quote that I had jotted down from a documentary of a Jewish family who traveled to Poland to meet the family who had saved their family during the Holocaust:

“The goal of all religion is to bring us to a level where we can see the divinity that’s all around us…I believe better no religion than a religion that doesn’t see godliness in every human being.”

And I would like to add…”and her dog.”

 

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 2, 2009.

One Response to “Words for Silence”

  1. Your quote says,”I believe better no religion than a religion that doesn’t see godliness in every human being.” The Quakers that I spend my days with are fond of saying, “There is that of God in every person.” Same thought, different words. The relationship between person and pet, I think, can teach us something about the relationship between God and person. That unconditional love for a lesser being. (This all made sense in my head when I started out; now I’m not feeling very articulate.)

Leave a Reply

 
