I have good friends

I haven’t prayed for a month, at least not from the Book of Common Prayer (BCP), I’ve sent up missiles of prayer — quick pleas shot up like flares into sky — but I haven’t really P.R.A.Y.E.D.

This morning I decided I had kept myself from (or is it avoided? ignored?) corporate prayer long enough. I missed it and it was time to get back to the business of prayer. It’s good to have friends.

And so I readied myself for prayer. I am a person of routine and ceremony, I spread my cloth on the washing machine, set out my books, each in its own place, and I lit my candle. But when I opened the BCP to the lectionary to find the readings for today I had to stop — I didn’t have the new Portals of Prayer booklet. My friend Dorothy, my favorite Lutheran Lady of the Altar, brings me one each quarter and my first devotional words of the morning are always from that booklet. I have good friends.

I know it must be in one of my purses, so I go there. No Portal, but my wooden holding cross is there, a gift from my friend Jayne. Ahhh, I truly have good friends. I smile. “Sweet Jayne, I’ll be needing that,” I say to myself as I shove it in my pocket, my mind racing on to the next place to look for the Portal (this is starting to sound like an episode of Stargate).

Ah ha! I remember emptying out all my “important” papers onto the table (now overrun with “important” papers) in my sewing room…there it is! I race back outside to my back porch, my washing machine and my provisional altar.

04AltarThere is only a few more weeks left of this liturgical year, I’m anxious to be awake and aware and ready for this coming year. When I open my Prayer Log I am only somewhat surprised to see that it really has been exactly 30 days since my last visit. I greet my Prayer Log with a fond and familiar smile and smooth its pages with my hand, petting the beautiful pages. I have missed it, and I realize that I am glad that I have missed it. It’s good to have friends, I have good friends.

I take my friends with me into prayer. I have good friends.

No, nothing more eventful than that happened. But I think to be reminded that I have good friends is enough. Don’t you?

04BishopRickel

I follow my Bishop on Twitter. He is a gentle man with a delightful sense of humor. I loved this morning’s tweet. “FREE” he proclaimed. It almost makes me want to make that drive up to Seattle…

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “I have good friends”

  1. with a deep, relaxed sigh I say “Indeed I do.”

  2. I used to always hear “prayer is a discipline” and only now do I fully understand that it indeed is. I am the world’s worse at throwing up prayer, as you said, like flares into the sky. I so admire that you have at least created a way to be very present my friend. Today I give thanks for you too.

Leave a Reply

 
