I’m looking forward to looking forward

07RainSometimes we find friends through our work, sometimes through our family and sometimes we find our friends because they live near us. But the true friends of the heart we usually find because we are walking on the same path.

These are friends that tend to us like Gardeners of the Soul. They feed us in ways that comfort and hold our shadowed selves, that inner being that we rarely bring out in polite company for fear of offending. They coax out into the light the reality of who we are and point the way to who we can become if we only realize who we already are.

I am feeling scattered and unfocused. I can’t seem to read two sentences and retain their meaning. But I have friends that pull me back in, friends that will just sit quietly with me.

Thank you, Diane, who has brought to light and into focus my longing for the longing that is Advent. I am looking forward to looking forward.

 

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “I’m looking forward to looking forward”

  1. The blessings flow both ways, my friend. Thank you for being a light in my darkness…

  2. I have found female friendships don’t get enough attention in books, or the media. The work to keep some up, the divergent paths taken, endings… It can all be so complicated for me and sometimes I don’t understand until well down the road, and sometimes not at all.

    I just read “The Myth of YOu and Me” about a friendship between two women and it was so good to read what I have felt at times.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts- and for sharing your prayer ritual. Love that definition of intimate= into me see.
    Thanks for letting us see!

Leave a Reply

 
