What have you done for me lately …

When you read the headline “What have you done for me lately?” whose voice are you hearing? Is it your own? The voice of God? Your children? Your husband? The church? Or do you hear a line from a song and merrily followed up with “…oo-ooo-oo ooo oo-oo-ooo”?

What kind of emotion runs through your heart when you read those words? Guilt? Abandonment? Anger? Sorrow? Or is it just a sweet thought of remembrance for Janet Jackson and her sweet moves on the stage during her peak years as a pop icon?

For your sake, I hope it’s the latter.

For God’s sake I hope that the phrase is just a simple reminder. A reminder that we need to keep moving, to keep striving, to keep working towards caring for ourselves, for those we love and for the others in this world that need us.

Advanced age, infirmity, poverty, lack of education — if you suffer from any one or more of these it does not excuse you from serving others. There is always something you can do — that you must be doing — to serve others.

And if you have none of the above for an excuse, if you busy yourself with blog reading (yes, I’m going to go there), Facebook lurking, television watching or even just sitting around feeling lonely in a world filled with people and possibilities, if you are whining and moaning about the fact that your skin isn’t as smooth as it once was, your body doesn’t work like it once did, you don’t have a new car, a big enough home and ate hamburger for dinner instead of steak, or your husband didn’t tell you he loved you in just the right way at just the right time and you want life to read like a historical romance even though you look more like Phyllis Diller than Beyonce, well, then, GET OVER YOURSELF!

There’s work to be done. And we don’t have time for you to worry about all the things you have done and have left undone. Take care of that in confession and move on. You need to get up and get moving and DO something.

Use it or lose it, sister!.

Are you called to pray? Pray! Are you called to comfort? Comfort! Are you called to love? Love! Are you called to labor? Labor!

What calls you? What calls you to move from one minute through to the next, reaching through joy and deliverance and into salvation? And the salvation that I’m talking about is the salvation that you can experience right here, right now in THIS world.

Heaven starts here. Heaven is now. And it starts with you loving God and with you loving your neighbor as yourself AND yourself.

What have you done for me lately? And what are you going to do for you?

Local Lewis County choristers, singing for God, country and their beloved neighbors.

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 19, 2009.

5 Responses to “What have you done for me lately …”

  1. Thanks for the kick in the butt.

    Your entry reminds me of this awesome song from Sister Act 2!

  2. Wow, kicked in the pants & then wrung out to dry watching the video. What are you ladies trying to do to me today?

  3. “GET OVER YOURSELF!”…. I love that Kim!! Indeed, time and effort spent bellyaching is lost time. There is so much to do, so much to give. Lord, but I love your spirit. :c)

  4. Whenever this question comes to my messy mind, it always knocks me off my feet. For me, it means I’m looking to the outside world to fill me up or at least fold some laundry. Big smiles. The question reminds me of the conditions my human heart puts on action and love and comfort. It is the dreaded “If you…then I’ll…” scenario. God’s love and comfort are unconditional and if I’m asking then I’m certainly not seeing nor walking as Christ did and God longs for me to.

    Great reminder, My Friend. Much gratitude.

  5. Thanks for this, Kim . . . I needed to hear this right now instead of sitting around whinning about what I don’t have in my life that I thought I would get, that I was “entitled” to. That I think everyone else has but me. (Poor me!!!) You are so right: the kingdom of Heaven is at hand, right now, at this moment, and I don’t want to miss it because I’m wringing my hands over something that God hasn’t willed anyway!

Leave a Reply

 
