Are you eating enough?

What really feeds you? Are you eating enough?

In just six days we will all be sitting down to our Thanksgiving dinner and “Are you eating enough?” probably won’t be the question we will ask ourselves or each other. We will all be wondering if we have eaten too much, have we been too greedy, have we added to our misery rather than increased our pleasure through over consumption of the delights of this annual festive meal.

But today, today are you feeling fed?

[LAUGHTER CAME FROM EVERY BRICK]

Just these two words He spoke
changed my life.

“Enjoy Me.”

What a burden I thought I was to carry—
a crucifix, as did He.

Love once said to me, “I know a song,
would you like to hear it?”

And laughter came from every brick in the street
and from every pore
in the sky.

After a night of prayer, He
changed my life when
He sang.

“Enjoy Me.”

-St. Teresa of Avila (1515-1582)

I have been pondering a trio of questions* that I came across the other day, I think that I would like to ask you these same questions. Don’t answer me, just answer yourself—and keep asking yourself, you might be surprised how the answers change over time:

  • If we knew we were going to live tomorrow and for a long time thereafter, if we believed we were eternal beings by nature, what would we do?
  • Who would we follow?
  • Around what narrative would we organize the various aspects of our life?

 

*”Christianity Beyond Belief” by Todd D. Hunter

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 20, 2009.

One Response to “Are you eating enough?”

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes! Teresa of Avila has always spoken directly to me. She has become for me a great vestibule.

    Good questions, too. I use similar questions and without fail they force me to sit down hard some days.

Leave a Reply

 
