Setting an Intention for a New Beginning

Yesterday I began a 21-day journey on a path called Catalysts for Change, an e-course offered on the Spirituality & Practice website (it’s not too late to sign up!). Step One: Set Your Intention.

I’m excited! And I’m excited about being excited!

Why so excited? Because change and fear normally walk hand in hand in my life. I may seem bold and brave and loud — and sometimes I am! — but when I am forced to face the unfamiliar, I revert back to the mindset of that tiny little girl who wasn’t strong or confident, who couldn’t run very fast or throw very hard, who was new to the school and was very afraid of getting lost, scared of someone finding out that I didn’t know what I was doing or where I was going. That girl is so small and so scared and so alone.

Yesterday I was called in to work — for the very first time — as a paraprofessional substitute at a local Jr/Sr High School. My kids didn’t go to this school, so here I was, the New Kid, again.

I knew that I was in danger of allowing that tiny and frightened New-Kid-at-School Kim to determine my mindset, so I set a new intention for a bold, new pathway. And in typical bold and brave and loud style — typical of the Confident Kim, that is — I sent out a few excited text messages to my Boyz, a Big Man and a Girl: “Tomorrow I am working as a parapro sub and I don’t know what it is and I don’t know what’s ahead, but I’m starting a new adventure! I’m excited!

Say that about anything, “I don’t know what’s ahead, but I’m starting a new adventure! I’m excited!” Say it three times. Say it boldly, bravely, loudly. Set an Intention (capitol “I”), set your mind on a course for adventure, be all that you can be….no, wait, that’s the Army. Never mind! Just BE!

I’m excited about my new adventures into the unknown. I don’t know what’s ahead, but I’m excited! That is my Intention:

To Welcome Change as an Adventure. Fear has stood in my way for too long, it is time that I allow Fear to be overtaken by Excitement.

“Life loves to be taken by the lapel and told: ‘I’m with you kid. Let’s go.'” ~Maya Angelou

Four other blogging sisters of spirituality and faith are traveling down the Catalysts for Change pathway together with me. They are:

I encourage you to visit their blogs and see how, as often happens with traveling companions, although we are each called to the same view, we focus our attention on very different paths of discovery. (BTW, if you are a regular visitor and you are taking this same course, let me know and I’ll link you in or we can just discuss our thoughts!)

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 8, 2010.

6 Responses to “Setting an Intention for a New Beginning”

  1. This sounds like a great course for you – I’ll be interested to hear about it as you go along.

    I’m going to show my public school ignorance (I haven’t had any experience with public school since I was the substitute music teacher in 1987), but what is a parapro sub?

    • It’s all new to me too. Is it cuz we’re old? Surely not! 😀

      SO, from what I can understand, a paraprofessional is “one who assists a professional”….like a paralegal, a paramedic. A paraprofessional educator is also known as a teacher’s aide. Hmmm, like a Transportation Engineer (truck driver) or a Sanitation Engineer (garbage man)? Of course, the ACTUAL paraprofessionals are actually trained, I was just filling in as a substitute.

      Something else I learned (RE-learned, actually) was that I absolutely ADORE middle school age children! Yes, I know, I’m crazy. I’m one of those weird people who think gangly and awkward (like half-grown puppies) is really, really cute! Babies and cute elementary age kids bore me to tears, I’ve seen everything cute that ever, EVER could be, don’t need to see any more.

      But half-grown, rebellious, smart-mouthed, excitable kids full of bravado and sometimes destructive energy? Bliss! 😛

  2. A church I used to serve holds an annual “Kirkin’ of the Tartan” service. Since I’m a devoted Scotophile I decided one year that I would do the blessing in Gaelic (somehow or other I had found the blessing in Gaelic). Mind you I don’t know how to speak Gaelic, but I thought it would be a cool thing to do. Anyway, I managed to learn a few of the words, but lacked pronunciation guides for most of them. I practiced. Multiple times. Felt confident then lost confidence. The day came and I didn’t really know what I was doing but I decided to follow that old maxim that if you act like you know what you are doing no one will know differently. So I got up in front of the church filled with about 400 people and sputtered out my Gaelic blessing and no one was the wiser.

    That’s a long story to say bravado can carry you a long way. Why is it, though, that fear has so much power? I’m trying to schedule Pampered Chef shows and I procrastinate making calls to potential hosts because I’m afraid they’ll say no. So what if they say no! If I don’t call I don’t give them a chance to say yes, but somehow or other that truth doesn’t stretch far enough to conquer fear. I feel dumb. But you know what? WE ALL FEEL THIS WAY ABOUT SOMETHING!!!

    So I’m going to try to conquer fear right along with you. Would you like to host a Pampered Chef party?

    • Let’s make a deal! You work on getting some shows booked, I’ll work on getting a job and when I get my job I’m going to go on a shopping spree at the Pampered Chef with you! OMGoodness there is some AWESOME stuff in that catalog!

      Can one have a Pampered Chef show with you in one state and me in another?

  3. I’m thrilled you’ve shared this! I started to read last night before bed – NOT the best time. I’m returning again to tell you I’ll be back because this is exactly what I want to read… but I’m here at AGAIN not the best time. Only difference, I’m leaving a note of gratitude that you’re sharing.

  4. […] I suddenly remembered one of the two reasons I was able to start my first day at school (see prayer blog post for more info) with […]

Leave a Reply

 
