Affirming My Value. Affirming Your Value. Affirming Kim’s Value.

The assignments for Days 5 and 6 of the Catalysts for Change e-course: choose an affirmation and the repeat.

“An affirmation opens the door. It’s a beginning point on the path to change. . .” —Louise Hay in You Can Heal Your Life Affirmations Kit

We were asked to create an affirmation and then to state it in the first, second and the third person, and then to say it at least 100 times in one day. So what did I choose as my affirmation?

“This is hard, but I can do hard. I can breathe, breathing helps keep me centered and calm.

“This is hard, but you can do hard. You can breathe, breathing helps to keep you centered and calm.

“This is hard, but Kim can do hard. Kim can breathe, breathing helps Kim to stay centered and calm.”

“I can do hard” became the obvious choice after Day 4’s reading:

We have a saying around Kindness House, the community where I live: “You can do hard.” The reason we say this is that, in our modern era, the words “It’s too hard” have become an anthem for giving up. Have an ache or pain, reach for a pill; get depressed after losing a job, take Prozac for a while. A friend once confided to me that she regretted divorcing her husband. She said the only reason she did it was a prevailing attitude at the time that “If it gets really hard, why make yourself suffer?” Maybe we have become afraid to tackle anything that might be very hard; maybe we’ve been convinced that we can’t do hard things.

“You can do hard” is one of my community’s ways of reminding us that we need not run away in fear just because something is greatly challenging. It might be daunting, but we can do daunting. It might even be scary, but we can do scary. No matter how bad it is — and it could be very bad for a while — we can do it.

— Bo Lozoff in It’s a Meaningful Life

There is more to this post, but I cannot post it in my blog without invading the privacy of someone that, while he wouldn’t be bothered by the words said, at this moment I have an obligation to protect his privacy.

If you would like to know “The Rest of the Story”, email me at kz@tds.net and I’ll send it to you (if I haven’t already).

Oh, and by the way, the photo above is of this Kim, this tiny but strong Kim, and her beloved horse, Takue. Look at that tiny girl! She could do hard. AND she won a blue ribbon while doing it!

“Arise, shine, for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord has dawned upon you.” Isaiah 60:1

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 13, 2010.

4 Responses to “Affirming My Value. Affirming Your Value. Affirming Kim’s Value.”

  1. Si, te pueda dificil! And don’t you love that quote from Isaiah? I can hear us singing it in chapel in divinity school. Arise and shine, wonder woman!

  2. Juat wrote that quote down! Been finding myself doing really hard things lately and saying vehemently under my breath, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”. Then I stop look around and and amazed I did it.

    Halleluiah!

    Which ties in with one of my favorite songs- have you heard this version?

  3. Ah Kim. This is a wonderful passage – both Bo & Isaiah. So simple in concept isn’t it? It’s one of those things I know I can do and I do do it constantly. I can do hard. I am brave enough to face big stuff head on most days. I’m always amazed upon completion. I’m sitting here thinking of other things to use. Your baby step concept. Know what I mean? I can do social stuff. I can defend myself. I can face ridicule. I can…I can…
    Much gratitude. I needed to read this today.

Leave a Reply

 
