A Gift of Sacred Light in the Face of Beauty

There is a woman in my church family that, every so often, will stop me as I pass by her. She will rest her hand lightly on my forearm and look up into my face. Her face glowing with a Light so soft and gentle and inviting that I feel as though I can climb into that Light and bask in the warm glow of its beauty. I cannot look away. I am held still. Spellbound.

With her hand on my arm and her face turned up to mine, she pauses. She pauses as if to make sure I am really listening. Her eyes reach deep into mine and when I am truly still she will say to me, “Thank you for all you do.”

And she smiles. Her eyes glittering from the sparks of Light within her, the soft beauty of her face holding me still for a moment. And she smiles. Holding my body still with her hand on my arm, holding my attention with her eyes, holding my heart in the warmth of her smile.

And as I look into her face, I know that for that moment I am looking into the very face of Jesus.

I have learned to take those moments with Her and live in them for as long as the glow of the Light lasts. Those moments are sacred. They are a gift.

Those moments are sacred. She is a Gift.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate; our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us, it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fears, our presence automatically liberate others.”

~Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 25, 2010.

4 Responses to “A Gift of Sacred Light in the Face of Beauty”

  1. Taking that moment to just be still can be so difficult! But powerful!

    I need to read this quote every morning. Sigh.

  2. “Our deepest fear…”

    Being a self shrinker, I have heard this quote before and have been stopped with its direct path to my brain- telling me that I really need to think about it. Because I figure if I make myself small enough, invisible enough, with as little needs as possible , I will somehow escape the pain of living an authentic life. Doesn’t work.

    Your writing is everybit as beautiful and honest and true as Maryanne williamson. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, and prayers and being visible! And Congrats on getting published!!! What a productive gal you are!

  3. Ah Marianne Williamson…Irony or synchronicity, your word? I did a revisit of this very book on Sunday. I am most definitely a self shrinker, but I prefer the term ‘back of the room girl.’ Big smiles.

    And I so want to stand near this lady. I want to watch her move. Perhaps one day when I grow up, I could be Her. To provide a Light so strong that it keeps the world and its egos at arm’s length for just a few moments.

    Hey Kim – for me, she is you. For me, in my tiny speck in Alabama, you are the gift.

Leave a Reply

 
