Doing the Prep Work for Lenten Practice

I have (sorta) cleaned out my computer workspace in preparation for this year’s Lenten Practice. The books are lined up and ready, I have cleared a small work area. I’m set. I’m ready. Maybe.

Last year, delving into the deep and spiritual seemed more adventure than work. This year? I’m a little scared, to be honest, to look too deep, to dive down too far.

“I’m on a Lenten Road to change, actively seeking a prosperity of the spirit, a revival of the mind and a new foundation for healthy living in peace with the earth. Lent isn’t just about what you give up, it’s also about what you take up. Lent can be a beginning, a start, a change.” ~Kimberly Mason, an oft traveled road (Feb. 27, 2009)

That’s what I said about the Lenten season last year. But the times, they are a changin’ (to quote Dylan). Will I be able to find that optimism again? Will I be able to stick with it and do the hard work necessary to “take up” a new start, begin a new beginning…again?

I have one dozen spiritual, teaching books  on my shelf, one book of poetry. My meditations for this Lenten season will come from these books.

I hope I’ll see you on the road.

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “Doing the Prep Work for Lenten Practice”

  1. Can you tell me what your books are? I have begun to compile my reading list for Lent too.

    • Scarred by Struggle, Transformed by Hope. Joan Chittister. Monk Habits for Everyday People. Dennis Okholm. Job and the Mystery of Suffering. Richard Rohr. Words for Silence. Gregory Fruehwirth, OJN. Wherever You Go, There You Are. Jon Kabat-Zinn. Peace is Every Step. Thich Nhat Hanh. Anam Cara. John O’Donohue. A New Earth. Eckhart Tolle. Broken Open. Elizabeth Lesser. Bird by Bird. Anne Lamotte. Pray All Ways. Edward Hays. When God is Silent. Barbara Brown Taylor. and finally, for poetry, Love Poems from God. translated by Daniel Ladinsky.

      A really good gathering, I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
