Live Courageously, Practice Joy, Accept RESPONSIBILITY

medrivingtwo-11

On a day of celebration and hedonism (Fat Tuesday), it may seem odd for me to put out the call for people to Accept Responsibility, but here it is.

“The best years of your life are the ones in which you decide your problems are your own. You do not blame them on your mother, the ecology, or the president. You realize that you control your own destiny.” -Albert Ellis

If only I could blame my mother for who I am, where I am, what I’ve done and even for what I’m about to do. But I can’t. I’m at the wheel of my own life. I’m fighting my own battles now, I’ll give my Momma the victories, but the fault in defeat is mine. (Ouch, mixed metaphors.)

Anyway, I don’t want to talk about the Blame Game, it’s about accepting responsibility for things that really aren’t under your total control, but you can have an important influence.

I want to be really clear about this, so I’ll say it again (really loudly, for the hard of hearing):

“Accepting responsibility isn’t about taking the blame, it’s about taking action.” -Kimzilla

Accept responsibility for the happiness and well being of your mate, your children, your neighbor and the guy in the next continent. Accept responsibility for world hunger, world peace and even global warming.

Accept responsibility and then do something, anything will help, just do it.

I wish for you a glad heart, real maple syrup and fluffy pancakes this Fat Tuesday. I am thankful that I can call you friend. I am hopeful that tomorrow will bring another journey of peace and prayer and that I will see you traveling along that same road. Peace be with you.

“God, you know my thoughts before I speak them. You know my heart’s desire. I pray that on this Lenten journey I will be filled with peace and moved to divine actions that began as whisperings from you. And I know that you are faithful and you can do this in my life. Amen.”

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “Live Courageously, Practice Joy, Accept RESPONSIBILITY”

  1. And also with you.

  2. I was just thinking of this yesterday. Dr. M’s job isn’t what we’d hoped, but there are good parts. I was thinking that because at this point there’s nothing we can do, we just need to find the joy – and accept responsibility for finding that joy.

    I’m sick today – so no fat celebration for me. Not necessarily a bad thing!

    P.S. You’re so pretty (that sounded stalkerish didn’t it?)

Leave a Reply

 
