Creating Prayer Space, Honoring a Meditative Path

Over on my quilt blog I have been talking about my quest to create a new sewing room; a space where I can seek creative refuge and honor my artistic soul.

The last three months of my life have been bereft of any creative fervor or flavor. And during that same three months my prayerful soul has been dry, hidden, parched and lonely.

That’s a lot of dramatic talk just to tell you I can’t sew and I can’t pray.

My head’s too full of noise. My brain is as full of clutter, just as this room with all of my sewing gear stacked up and packed up and getting dustier and lonelier by the minute.

But the noise is starting to die down, the anger has dissipated. And while I still find true clarity to be elusive, I can see that maybe down the road the fog will lift. The light will return, one day.

So, perhaps after I get my sewing room done (one can HOPE and DREAM, right?) then maybe I can turn this space into a new place for prayer and meditation and contemplation. Wouldn’t that be wonderful?

A permanent home for my books and candles and icons. No more washer tops and counter tops, but a dedicated space to breathe deep, sing psalms, read aloud, read silently, to think, to listen, to really, really pray?

I’m not making any promises, I’m just dreaming, but maybe…

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 11, 2010.

3 Responses to “Creating Prayer Space, Honoring a Meditative Path”

  1. You will find a way. Or maybe it will find you. In either case, your creative and prayerful souls will join forces to make this dream a reality. Of that I have no doubt whatsoever.

  2. This sounds like me with the empty page on my blog. Though I may have already told you about that.

    RE your emailed comment–I like Richard Rohr’s writings even better than Joan Chittister’s. “Everything Belongs” is about contemplative prayer. He seems deceivingly simple, but he’s profound. The latest book I loved is “The Naked Now.”

  3. How can I help? Or shall I just plan to bring down some decorative icons for the dedication/room blessing? Cuz you KNOW it’s gonna happen!

Leave a Reply

 
