The Naked Now, by Richard Rohr

I am a Mystic.

After reading just the first few chapters of this book by Richard Rohr, I believe I can say with confidence what I have been feeling for a long time but didn’t really know if I could lay claim to it, but…

I am a Mystic.

I’m a young Mystic (in maturity) and I have a lot to learn about awareness and divine union and nondual thinking and surrender and whatnot. But what an adventure!

Here are just a few of the many lines from Richard Rohr’s book that I just HAD to jot down as I read:

“True spirituality is a search for divine union now.”

“Common religion seeks private perfection; mystics seek and enjoy the foundation itself — divine union.”

“. . .hope and union are the same thing; and that real hope has nothing to do with mental certitudes.”

“We are being utterly and warmly held and falling helplessly into a scary mystery at the very same time.”

Prayer defined: “. . .any interior journeys or practices that allow you to experience faith, hope, and love within yourself.”

You won’t hear from me for a few days, I’m going on an adventure. I’ll tell you all about it when I get back!

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 19, 2010.

3 Responses to “The Naked Now, by Richard Rohr”

  1. I have read this book twice. Once on my own and then in a reading group I facilitate. Wonderful book!!

  2. Me too, me too! LOVE THIS BOOK (love being a mystic, too)

Leave a Reply

 
