Kind, Helpful, Beautiful

Is it kind? Is it helpful? Is it beautiful?

So often lately, too often, I have been reacting to people or situations from a pained, sorrowful, or angry self. Those reactions are rarely ever kind, helpful or beautiful. They are hurtful, spiteful, and ugly.

I have taken on a new practice — a practice that requires a deep breath and at least a moments hesitation. Whenever I feel Sad Kim or Hurt Kim or Angry Kim begin to respond to a person or situation I try to take a moment to ask:

Is what I am about to say Kind?

Or, is what I am about to do Helpful?

Or even, will it be Beautiful?

I try. I’m not always successful, not even close. But I’m thinking about it. And that’s progress, isn’t it?

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 21, 2010.

4 Responses to “Kind, Helpful, Beautiful”

  1. I think what you just posted is good practice before anyone speaks or acts!
    Mary Beth sent me your way. Glad to find you.

  2. This is a really good practice. Thanks for posting it. I needed the reminder!

  3. […] The Blue Period I wrote a short blog post on my prayer blog the other day titled “Kind, Helpful, Beautiful” where I talked about a new set of attitudes I am trying on for size. Whenever I am tempted […]

Leave a Reply

 
