Holy Week Marathon Starts NOW!

Today marks the official start of a Marathon Week of churchgoing for many of us. It’s Holy Week, and we ain’t stoppin’ ’til the last parishioners droppin’.

It all started today with Palm Sunday. Tomorrow the local Cascade Community Chorus will be singing Handel’s Messiah: Part II and Mendelssohn’s Hear My Prayer at the Seventh Day Adventist Church in Chehalis (7 pm, don’t be late!). Tuesday, we get the night off. Holy Wednesday, choir practice and HE. Maundy Thursday we sing the Tenebrae. Then we’ve got Good Friday, that leads to Holy Saturday and the Easter Eve vigil, which brings us to Easter: The Biggest Day of the Year for all the Chreasters to head into church so they can wear their new Spring duds and go see the Easter Bunny raise Jesus from the dead, hunt eggs and eat candy…or something like that.

Whew! I’m tired just listening to it all. But excited!

What are you doing this week? What is your favorite part of Holy Week? What do you dread most? Does the Easter Bunny come to your house? Do you dye eggs? Can I have some of your candy?

Oh, and guess who’s sleepy!? That’s right, on the right, that’s my grandson:  Mason Reese. 😀

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 28, 2010.

5 Responses to “Holy Week Marathon Starts NOW!”

  1. At our parish in Virginia, I remember Holy Week as a choir member with both joy and fear! So exhausting…but in a good way! This year I will be driving to VA on Good Friday and Easter Vigil (a MUST in my NSHO if you are an Episcopalian!) will be special this year as my youngest granddaughter is preparing the bread for Eucharist and will celebrate her first communion. Lots of family time this Easter.

    Hope your Holy Week is blessed (and not too tiring!)

  2. I’ll be singing, singing, singing this week… whew! We’ll sing at the Maundy Thurs service at 8PM, then on Good Friday, we are doing a cantata, The Seven Last Words of Christ, and will be joined by some theater singers for it, and then The Great Vigil Saturday night at 9PM (where I am lector also) and finally Easter morning, where I am again, lector. Whew. I am exhausted just typing it all out. On we go…

  3. Our church is hosting Maundy Thursday & our choir is singing. I won’t be able to do the Friday service (it’s during the day), but I hope to make it to the Vigil at one of our sister churches. Then we have Easter Sunday back in our own church.

    Back at my old church I LOVED tenebrae & the vigil. We’ll see what I think about this new place.

Leave a Reply

 
