Practicing Prayer

Practice isn’t something that we Perfectionists enjoy, we just want to be good, no, great at something from the start. Only the weak need practice, we tell ourselves.

As a Recovering Perfectionist, I struggle with practice, but I’m practicing practice. I have started a daily practice of early morning reading and meditation, to add to the practice of the Daily Office with the Book of Common Prayer.

I started Edward Hays Pray All Ways this morning.  There are fifteen chapters, fifteen prayers and fifteen different ways to look at where and how we can pray in a different way, unceasing and all ways.

The first chapter he talked about praying in and with nature. The last stanza of the closing prayer I found particularly powerful:

Teach me to commune with your first Word made flesh,
your creation,
that I may be able to unravel the wondrous words
of your second Word made flesh, Jesus,
through whom, with whom, and in whom,
I may see myself as another word of yours
made flesh,
to your glory and honor.

Amen.

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 5, 2010.

One Response to “Practicing Prayer”

  1. It’s good for all of us to remember that we’re the words of God in the world!

Leave a Reply

 
