Psalm 30: You have lifted me up

The image above is the center piece (centerpiece?) to the quilt that will hang in my Studio. It was a gift from a dear friend. It’s perfect. Today I am taking it to the Sugar n’ Spice to see if I can’t find a new fabric or two to go with it, to see where inspiration leads me.

This morning Psalm 30, where this snippet of verse originated, was the required psalm reading. I read it with new eyes and a new heart. I hope that there are others that can read this with me and claim the same:

Psalm 30 Exaltabo te, Domine

1 I will exalt you, O LORD, because you have lifted me up *
and have not let my enemies triumph over me.

2 O LORD my God, I cried out to you, *
and you restored me to health.

3 You brought me up, O LORD, from the dead; *
you restored my life as I was going down to the grave.

4 Sing to the LORD, you servants of his; *
give thanks for the remembrance of his holiness.

5 For his wrath endures but the twinkling of an eye, *
his favor for a lifetime.

6 Weeping may spend the night, *
but joy comes in the morning.

7 While I felt secure, I said, “I shall never be disturbed. *
You, LORD, with your favor, made me as strong as the mountains.”

8 Then you hid your face, *
and I was filled with fear.

9 I cried to you, O LORD; *
I pleaded with the Lord, saying,

10 “What profit is there in my blood, if I go down to the Pit? *
will the dust praise you or declare your faithfulness?

11 Hear, O LORD, and have mercy upon me; *
O LORD, be my helper.”

12 You have turned my wailing into dancing; *
you have put off my sack-cloth and clothed me with joy.

13 Therefore my heart sings to you without ceasing; *
O LORD my God, I will give you thanks for ever.

I have another dear friend that tells me that while some claim that God never gives you more than you can handle, she does not believe that to be true. She believes that God is a wildman, and that He will have you doing things and being things that you never thought was possible — and they weren’t, without Him.

This morning’s prayer concluded with words that never before had such meaning for me, from Ephesians 3:20, 21:

Glory to God whose power, working in us, can do infinitely more than we can ask or imagine: Glory to him from generation to generation in the Church, and in Christ Jesus for ever and ever. Amen.

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “Psalm 30: You have lifted me up”

  1. I stated this belief to my sister last week much more colorfully than you. She looked at me as if I had grown an extra head. Of course, water was covering our entire bathroom after being turned back on so perhaps it was a timing issue.

    You have turned my wailing into dancing…Yes! Over and over again. Yes!

    Sometimes I think this is the most sacred word, Kim. Three letters containing such openness to receipt – Yes.

    Much gratitude for things to carry…always…Much love…

  2. OH, yeah. Preach it, sister, PREACH IT! SO fine.

Leave a Reply

 
