Just Because It’s What You See, Doesn’t Make it True

What you see always depends upon where you are standing at the time you see it. Literally and figuratively.

If you are hurting, you see through eyes filled with pain. If you are happy, a light can shine around even the most grey of views. Love can lend the lens of your view a soft focus, an ethereal haze. Distrust sharpens your focus, gives it a knife’s edge of black and white, good and evil.

What you see depends upon where you are standing when you see it.

I spent Sunday afternoon at the local motocross race track, Burnt Ridge MX, chasing after a story and attempting to capture a few images with my camera. It was a glorious day spent in the midst of a beautiful countryside, surrounded by the thrill of athletes, both large and small, catching big air over high hills. The deep growl of engines on two wheels pushing through dirt with helmeted warriors wrestling through savage turns. Pure adrenaline and excitement.

I came home drained from excitement, wishing I had a bike of my own, and downloaded my pix into the computer. I shuffled quickly through the images, and when I came to this image my heart skipped a beat.

Bikers heading straight into the heart of a pretty substantial tree.

The daring and danger is nearly palatable in this image, I can almost taste fear. And I thought, “Why would they leave a tree in the middle of the track? This is irresponsible! It’s dangerous!”

And then I realized, I didn’t remember being outraged at obvious poor track design while I was there, at the track. And why not?

Because it wasn’t there. It was only my point of view that made it look dangerous.

It was my view — as deeply rooted and immovable as the tree — that made the setting look alarmingly dangerous. It wasn’t reality. Standing in one place, only able to see what was in front of me made me blind to my surroundings and blind the truth of the situation.

And unless I step away and work to change my point of view, my view would remain the same — and remain distorted by my own immovable viewpoint.

So I have to ask myself, and I ask you:

What person, place, thing or opinion do you have a negative view of?
Is there a different way to look at the situation?
If you change your viewpoint, will you be able to change your view?

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “Just Because It’s What You See, Doesn’t Make it True”

  1. Good story and how true…once I was being criticized for something or other and a co-worker said….just cause someone says something negative…doesn’t mean it’s true…same thing when they praise you….haha! It’s interesting that we are quick to believe the negative and not so quick to believe the praise…that’s how I am anyway.

  2. Great post, great observations. And, again, it seems kinda connected to what I wrote today. Curious…

  3. […] certainly do NOT want to adopt a baby, but is a dirt bike out of the […]

Leave a Reply

 
