Jesus and Me and Anne (and my Wonky eye)

This icon was given to me as a gift by my friend Anne. She attended an icon-writing workshop in June, you can read about it here, where she documents the process from day one through day five.

On the same day that Anne started the icon, I posted this on my One Year Here blog. This is from John O’Donohue’s Anam Cara:

“Perception is crucial to understanding. How you see, and what you see, determine how you will be. Your perception, or your view of reality, is the lens through which you see things. Your perception determines the way things will behave for you, and toward you. We tend to perceive difficulty as disturbances. Ironically, difficulty can be a great friend of creativity. I love the line from Paul Valery: “Une difficult est une lumiere. Une difficulte insurmountable est un soleil”—that is, “A difficulty is a light; an insurmountable difficulty is a sun.” This is a completely different way of considering the awkward, the uneven, and the difficult. Deep within us, there is a terrible impulse and drive toward perfection. We want everything flattened into one shape. We do not like unexpected shapes.”

And then the day after, I posted this comment on Anne’s blog:

kimprayz said… I’m more like Jesus than I THOUGHT I was! *g* If you look at my pic, especially like the close up on my http://oneyearhere.wordpress.com blog, you’ll see that I have a wonky eye.

I can’t wait to hear and see what you share, Anne. And I’m so very jealous! Jealous, but happy for you. :))))

Don’t you just love the way God loves us and brings us together, into community, into love, into hope and giving?

I love you, Anne, this is a gift beyond measure. I cannot begin to tell you…

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 9, 2010.

One Response to “Jesus and Me and Anne (and my Wonky eye)”

  1. I am happy that you love it/him so.

Leave a Reply

 
