When Love Holds

I sent away two tote bags on Wednesday. Both are surprise gifts to far away friends.

As I let them go into the hands of the postmistress and she carried them away, I wanted to take them back from her. They weren’t good enough, they weren’t right, I could have done better.

Bah. Such silliness.

But still, I worry. It’s not good enough, what I have given, what I have made with a joyful heart with these friends in mind, hoping to be able to convey my gratitude for their friendship through my own humble offerings … it’s … well, it is what it is.

And still, I worry.

I love this little snippet of poetry by Kabir. If only we could hold that thought about ourselves, with love and courtesy, every moment of every day.

“Look what happens to the scale when love holds it. It stops working.” ~Kabir

When I hold Kabir’s words close to my heart I can imagine my friends receiving their gift, holding it in love, and all judging stops, only love flows.

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 23, 2010.

4 Responses to “When Love Holds”

  1. You know, I really your posts.

  2. This is lovely. I’ve never struggled with perfectionism (although perhaps I could stand to work in that direction LOL), but it still makes sense when you consider how often we compare ourselves and our gifts with others. Love doesn’t care.

  3. You need never worry. I know, from being on the giving end, what it feels like to love a piece into being. So I know, being at the receiving end, that when I hold that gift I hold enormous love.

    Thank you, dear friend, for your gift and for your love.

Leave a Reply

 
