I had a really terrible, good, terrible, good day

.

I was disappointed today and disappointing. Lots of worries, some big, some small. Buddy the WonderDog could feel the stress pouring out of me, he brought me his newest toy and set it in my lap and then snorted at me in a very comforting tone. What a good dog.

I also had lots of things go very, very right.

Do you ever have days like that? Days that are just so very bad and so very good at the same time?

I almost feel like I had a demon and an angel battling it out inside my life.

My toilet overflowed three times in 12 hours. I’d think it was fixed and then it wasn’t.

I found out that the print wasn’t getting smaller, I needed new reading glasses. I love my new orange pair!

I turned in a horrible story this morning.

I delivered birthday presents to my youngest son, Shane.

I had to tell a man that I was sorry, but I couldn’t help him, my hands were tied and it did not make a difference that his mother may have cancer.

My new The Artist’s Way workbooks came in the mail today.

Some things I can’t talk about.

I had a really lovely lunch with my mother. (Thanks, Mom!) Well, the food was good, the coffee was so delicious there are no words. The rest was just awful.

I browsed in the HUBBUB, an artsy fartsy kinda place. I was entranced.

My editor scolded me and the other two stringers for cutting deadlines so close.

I finished the last bit of writing for the application I have made to the Sisters of St. Gregory and sent it off and now am just crossing my fingers and waiting…wait, can I do that? Cross my fingers, I mean. Hmmm…

Some other things I really can’t talk about, but could use some prayer for.

I guess I can say that I’m working on things, and that’s good.

“As we learn to have compassion for ourselves, the circle of compassion for others — what and whom we can work with, and how — becomes wider.” ~Pema Chodron, When Things Fall Apart
~ by Kimberly Mason on September 21, 2010.

7 Responses to “I had a really terrible, good, terrible, good day”

  1. I feel all messed up today….maybe it’s in the air….I got my hair done though…that helped, a little….now I’ll try my fancied up mac and cheese an give it another go tomorrow. I’ll pray for you this evening Kimberly.

  2. #1 on the prayer list, sistah. Praying that the good outweighs the bad, and that The Heavenly Mother/Father lightens your load, lets a healing light shine through you and gives you peace.

  3. You know, good or bad, that sounded like a LOT of stuff to happen in one day! I’ll pray for a good day today.

  4. I was not familiar with Sisters of St. Gregory. Thank you for sharing. email me.

  5. The cool thing for me is that you felt all that went on in this day. You did not take to the couch with donuts and say no more. A very good example of how to live through a difficult day, feel the emotions and survive!!!! Even in your difficulty, especially in the complexity of your life, you are showing how its done in a healthy God filled and human way. Thank you.

    • Wow. You’re right! I got through it….well, I stopped long enough to tell you guys, but the first “I’ll pray for you, Kimberly” that came through my email, I felt as though the whole world had been lifted from my shoulders. No donuts, no wine — I think I might be making progress! 🙂

      ♥Kim

Leave a Reply

 
