A Journey into Writing Icons Begins Tomorrow

Tomorrow I begin a new journey. I love the day before a journey. The preparation, the anticipation. The sleepless night before, chasing anticipation around the room or, when I catch sleep, dreaming about the possibilities of the day ahead.

Today is such a day, for tomorrow I am going to begin with a series of lessons in icon writing. I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am.

I do not know yet who I will be painting, that is part of the adventure. I do know that I found this print of St. Catherine of Siena, one of my favorites, at my teacher’s studio and I fell in love with it. But who I paint is not for me to decide, from what I understand, it will be a choice that is given to me and I will know it when I receive it.

That, in and of itself, is a great adventure.

♦♦♦♦

St. Catherine (1347—1380) was born in Siena, Italy. It was a time of class feuds, religious wars, the Black Plague and famine; a time of transition from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance.

She seems to ask a lot of questions, pondering the vast unknowable God and his creation. Her relationship to God seems almost casual in it’s intimacy. I envy her confidence in grace received and childlike trust. I think she is someone I would like to spend time getting to know better.

[ REST IN PRAYER ]

The sun hears the fields talking about effort
and the sun
smiles,
and whispers to
me,

“Why don’t the fields just rest, for
I am willing to do everything
to help them
grow?”

Rest, my dears, in
prayer.

~St. Catherine of Siena

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “A Journey into Writing Icons Begins Tomorrow”

  1. Is this the same iconographer whose work you posted once upon a time ago? Love her style (I seem to recall it was a her). If not the same, well then, carry on!

    Icon writing is such a prayerful journey. Are there others who will be writing with you? Doing the writing in community adds a lovely, rich dimension. Am eager to hear all!

  2. […] while I was her student, I blogged about my journey: A Journey Into Icon Writing Begins Tomorrow (here you can see an icon Bernadette wrote featuring St. Catherine of Siena, one of my favorite […]

Leave a Reply

 
