A New Day Begun in the Darkness of Advent

A day begun in the dark is a good day. I haven’t always thought that way, and I don’t always live it. But I believe it with all my heart.

I begin each morning in the same way. Still in bed, I quietly raise my arm straight into the air. This is the signal to Buddy the WonderDog to come and greet the day with me. He rises from his place at the foot of the bed and gently eases in for a greeting. My border collie, JesseDog, makes her way to the side of the bed where I reach out to tell her good morning too.

After a moment of cuddles and scratches, my arms reach to fling the covers back and at the same moment Buddy leaps to his feet and bounds over the top of me to the floor and JesseDog dances out the bedroom door as I say, “Let’s get up! It’s going to be a GOOD day!!”

Sometimes I laugh at my own Pollyanna-ish ways. The Cynic in me rises up and wonders, “How do YOU know it’s going to be a good day? It’s raining like hell outside and who knows what other kinds of hell this life can rain down on you today?”

How do I know? Because I am God’s beloved child. I trust that because he said so.

As He said through the prophet Jeremiah: “I have loved you with an everlasting love” (Jeremiah 31:3). And as the Psalmist declares: “You created me in my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb” (Psalm 139:13).

Advent is the season of anticipation of a new and better day with the coming of Christ. It is also the season of darkness, a time of preparation and hope for the dawning of a new beginning in our journey with Christ.

Advent is that time of trust. Trust that the sun will rise again, that the earth will rejoice and be glad in it, and that you and I will become different people standing here today than the people that stood here yesterday. Through our love and His Love we will be changed and we will be instruments of change.

Advent is a time of trust and discernment, of listening and waiting, of care and forgiveness. And the forgiveness is not just for others, it is, during this time, most especially a time for you to forgive yourself. Give yourself a chance to begin anew and begin a new journey.

Advent is an Adventure just waiting to unfold. Are you ready for the journey?

~ by Kimberly Mason on December 1, 2010.

3 Responses to “A New Day Begun in the Darkness of Advent”

  1. I love your morning routine! It’s so much more positive than mine, which is to roll over & ignore the day until I HAVE to get up.

    • It’s so much easier to get up when you don’t have anywhere in particular to be, Dana, don’t beat yourself up for it!

      Remember how it is on vacation, you can’t WAIT to jump out of bed and do things!?! My life is pretty unscheduled, just like a vacation. (Yup, I know how lucky I am!)

  2. What a good morning routine.

Leave a Reply

 
