I’m Still in Love with You, Religion

I’m still in love with you, Religion. Yes, you, the capitol “R” kind of Religion. Organized. Traditional. Yes, even the full of Hypocrites and Heretics kinda Religion. Especially that one.

In fact, I’m crazy in love with you.

I paused for a moment at the turn of the year, asking myself if it was still you that I loved. The answer came easily. Yes, I still I love you.

You bring me back to center when I lose focus and lose my balance.

You remind me that I am, after all, only human. That perfection is not to be acquired on this plane and that I am not the only broken vessel on the shelf.

You remind me that when Someone tells me that they know all of the answers, that They probably don’t even know half of the questions.  You remind me that not to listen to Them, but to listen to God.

You remind me to value Paradox. There is value in community, there is value in solitude. That Jesus is the only way to God and yet there are many pathways that lead to Him. That I must seek the light and also embrace the dark. That I must seek holiness and yet I must also practice radical hospitality. That I utterly fail and I also rise victorious each and every day.

I love you, Religion.

Let’s keep talking. Let’s keep the communication open between us. When there is something that I don’t understand about you, something that seems wrong and broken beyond repair, please help to remind me that you often feel the same way about me.

And to You, to those of you who do not love Religion the same way I do or even not at all, I understand. I get it. That’s the beauty of Religion. If you don’t think or feel or believe the same way I do, there is a place for you, there is a belief for you … there is even a non-belief for you.

And if you don’t love Religion because you think there are too many Hypocrites in it, don’t worry, there is plenty of room for you here too. Let me skooch on over a bit, you can sit next to me.

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 3, 2011.

5 Responses to “I’m Still in Love with You, Religion”

  1. 🙂 It may be cliche, but I have lived it, so I can say it if I bloody well please: it never ceases to surprise, amaze, and humble me to know, and I do know, that God has faith in me, even…make that especially…during those times when I do not necessarily have faith in God. Still turning into the skid, my friend.

  2. Yes, you are most certainly in love Kimberley….I’m in a quietly disturbed sort of love, but although it’s full of concerns and frustrations and feelings of disempowerment, I’m still in love….I wish my life to be a prayer and no matter how disturbed I am with the hierarchy, I find myself walking up those stairs to pray with “the people of God”!

  3. For all it’s bumps and warts, it still works. For me, it’s like taking the time to be present when I am in that space. I truly “feel” God there. I don’t think I’d feel the same presence or connection if I didn’t have a place to go. But that’s just me. :c)

  4. I always think I’m going to quit church, but then I just don’t. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
