An Angel, Raphael

Today I went to my iconography teacher’s house to choose my next subject.

It wasn’t hard at all, I had already told her that I thought I wanted to paint an angel, so she had gone through her drawings and pictures to find examples of several. I had already chosen Raphael, or so I thought, and when I saw this version of the Archangel Raphael, I became certain.

Raphael is mentioned in the book of Tobit. Raphael travels with Tobias and there is a dog in the story. Need I say more? 😛

Besides, Raphael is so very beautiful.

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 9, 2011.

6 Responses to “An Angel, Raphael”

  1. Looking forward to seeing this beautiful creation!

  2. Okay, did I miss the finished Jesus? And “dang!” that’s a handsome Raphael–my next icon is Gabriel. Surely Gabriel has a dog that we just don’t know about!

  3. I am always learning while reading one of your blogs! Thank you for sharing your vast interests and knowledge and faith! Now I will read up on Raphael…

  4. […] Later, while I was her student, I blogged about my journey: A Journey Into Icon Writing Begins Tomorrow (here you can see an icon Bernadette wrote featuring St. Catherine of Siena, one of my favorite saints); Day One Icons: Blessing, Gesso-ing and Preparation; Day 3 of Icon Writing; Day 4 of Icon Writing; Missing Jesus Face; Day 6 of Icon Writing: I Love My Jesus;  and this is my favorite, featuring Bernadette’s spiritual teaching, Day 7: Icon Writing with Jesus; and my last post before I gave my mother the icon for Christmas, The Same Jesus; my next planned icon, An Angel, Raphael. […]

  5. […] Later, while I was her student, I blogged about my journey: A Journey Into Icon Writing Begins Tomorrow (here you can see an icon Bernadette wrote featuring St. Catherine of Siena, one of my favorite saints); Day One Icons: Blessing, Gesso-ing and Preparation; Day 3 of Icon Writing; Day 4 of Icon Writing; Missing Jesus Face; Day 6 of Icon Writing: I Love My Jesus;  and this is my favorite, featuring Bernadette’s spiritual teaching, Day 7: Icon Writing with Jesus; and my last post before I gave my mother the icon for Christmas, The Same Jesus; my next planned icon, An Angel, Raphael. […]

Leave a Reply

 
