A Wedding and Three Funerals

No, that isn’t the title of a movie (besides, that’s “Three Weddings and a Funeral”), that’s is what has been happening at St. Timothy Episcopal Church this month.

The two that were married were blessed. The three that were buried will be missed.

When life is good in community, it is very, very good. Seeing the happy couple makes us all take heart and rejoice.

When we lose someone in our community, it is from within that community that we can take our broken hearts and pour them out together, and heal. Even in loss we can celebrate.

As the song says — and I know the harmony by heart now, having sung it loud and long three times in a week — as the song promises, He will raise us up.

I am the bread of life;
they who come to me shall not hunger;
they who believe in me shall not thirst.
No one can come to me unless the Father draw them.

Chorus:
And I will ra-aise them up, and I will raaaa-aise them up!
And I will ra-aise them uuu-upon the la-ast day!

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 24, 2011.

4 Responses to “A Wedding and Three Funerals”

  1. Love love LOVE that song!

  2. Oh, how I LOVE singing that song, esp. the descant on the chorus! What a wonderfully moving song! So sorry to hear about the loses there my friend.

  3. During my last year at my first full time job as a priest, we buried eleven people in twelve weeks. In a way it was a blessing for me to bid farewell to those loved ones before I departed for another position. At the same time it was brutal to say goodbye to so many in such a short period of time.

Leave a Reply

 
