TTLY: It’s Easy To Get In Over Your Head

“The people you have to lie to, own you. The things you have to lie about, own you. When your children see you owned, then they are not your children anymore, they are the children of what owns you. If money owns you, they are the children of money. If your need for pretense and illusion owns you, they are the children of pretense and illusion. If your fear of loneliness owns you, they are the children of loneliness. If your fear of the truth owns you, they are the children of the fear of truth.” —Michael Ventura

“If change is to come, it will come from the margins. It was the desert, not the temple, that gave the prophets.” -Wendell Berry

“Trust your hunches. They’re usually based on facts filed away just below the conscious level.” – Dr. Joyce Brothers

Last year at this time I posted every day for a week in my One Year Here blog. It was one of the toughest weeks of my life. But I got through it.

I got through it.

And now, One Year Later, I’m really starting to feel like I’m no longer in danger of going under, my head is above water. Joy is creeping back in, every day gets a little easier and a little easier.

Thank you for being there through this with me … even if it was just for today.

First He Looked Confused

I could not lie anymore, so I started to call my dog “God.”
First he looked
confused,

then he started smiling, then he even
danced.

I kept at it: now he doesn’t even
bite.

I am wondering if this
might work on
people?

—Tukaram (c. 1608-1649)

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 26, 2011.

8 Responses to “TTLY: It’s Easy To Get In Over Your Head”

  1. Thank you for all that you share Kimberly…..I love the part about the Prophets coming from the Desert, not the Temple.

  2. The text and the pictures go together so well–the sequence of the dog is brilliant! And such truth. Blessings, dear Kim. I know your words are such blessings to me.

  3. What is it Christopher Robin said to Pooh… “You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” Thanks for sharing your bravery, strength, and intelligence here my friend.

  4. That was an audible “awwww” post! Buddy is beautiful as are your words- tnank you for sharing your year of growth, pain, and learning!

  5. Wonderful pictures, and I love the Wendell Barry quote! But more than that, I love you. Blessings as you continue on your journey.

  6. I was glad to be on the journey with you – although I really wish we lived closer to each other…

    Loved the poem at the end – Dean Koontz would agree that dogs are God 🙂

  7. I followed your journey. It gave me hope.

  8. So glad you’re back on your feet AND your head’s above water!

    Hugs to you —
    D

Leave a Reply

 
