Carrying One Another

A matched pair of Belgians takes a break at the end of a long row of plowing.

Carrying One Another, today’s blogpost from the iMonk, really hit home today.

Carrying one another’s burdens is what Community — community with a capitol “C” — is all about. When someone drops the ball, runs out of steam or even stops believing or loses faith, there should be someone there to carry us through. I’m lucky to have that kind of Community.

And it isn’t just my church community, but my work community too. Today I failed to remember I had promised a cormorant expose for next week’s Outdoors section. My boss, The boss, had my back.

It has been a helluva year. I’ve been carried so often this year I haven’t had to buy a new pair of shoes. There have been some weeks when my feet haven’t even touched the ground.

I don’t know what else to say. I’m just grateful, that’s all. Thank you.

My One Year Here is over, it’s now One Year Later.

Last year, at about this time, I had set the date of 2.11.2011 as a minimum deadline. I had said I wouldn’t even consider dating anyone until that date. I’ve pushed that date back, I’ll wait until 11.11.2011. I’m not in a rush.

I had also set the date of 2.23.2011 as a new starting point. Starting point for what? I don’t know. I guess I’ll see when I get there.

Now go read the iMonk, Carrying One Another, you’ll be glad you did.

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 18, 2011.

2 Responses to “Carrying One Another”

  1. I’m glad you’ve had people carrying you – you deserve that kind of service!

  2. What a lovely post by iMonk. And how lovely it is that you feel so surrounded by people who love you and have been there for you, and that you’ve had the grace to let them care. You’ve accomplished so much my friend. Hugs to you this beautiful sunny morning!

Leave a Reply

 
