Opening the Door

I enjoy taking on a discipline for Lent rather than giving up chocolate or television or whatever it is that may not be good for me, but I still enjoy.

I prefer the idea of adding rather than subtracting from my life. And yes, I realize that there is probably a little selfish reasoning behind what I do, but I’m okay with that (she said with a grin and a wink).

My discipline last year was silence and readings. I kept the television off when I wasn’t watching it. I unplugged my iPod from my ears. I read Scarred by Struggle, Transformed by Hope by Sr. Joan Chittister for the third time, this time coordinating the reading with the Pray-as-you-go stations of the cross podcasts. (I’ll tell you how I did that in another post, in case you are interested in joining in this discipline with me.)

This year my disciplines are the same, with a few differences. The silence this year is more about keeping my mouth shut rather than the television turned off (although I have kept that discipline throughout the year, the TV is off now).

How am I doing on being quiet? Not very well. (Ask Beverly Hartz how quiet I was at the Chick Lit book club on Thursday night. Wow. :D)

But I’m working on it, and that is what taking on a discipline like that is all about — getting better at it as you go, not being a perfect student right out of the starting gate.

My reading discipline consists of four books.

This Joyce Rupp book, Open the Door: A Journey to the True Self, contains a six-week “journey to the true self” it says. I am reading this one daily throughout the Lenten season.

I also have Karen Armstrong’s new book, Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life.

And finally, The Scarlet Cord: Conversations With God’s Chosen Women, by Lindsay Hardin Freeman and Karen N. Canton.

That’s two books with 12 easy to divide chapters/subjects and one with 10 readings (Scarred by Struggle, Transformed by Hope). That makes 34 days of readings — which gives me a little wiggle room out of the 40 days of the Lenten season.

Oh, and one book (the Joyce Rupp book) to read every day for the whole six weeks.

That’s my story, that’s what I’m doing for Lent. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Peace to you, Kim

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 12, 2011.

3 Responses to “Opening the Door”

  1. I think I might have to use duct tape – not that I’m always chatty, but I do like to interject my nuggets of “wisdom.” I’m doing ok with not doing computer games, but I’m still spending too much time on the computer. I might have to stop doing puzzles & reading comics too. We’ll see.

  2. Beautiful post!

  3. oops, meant to post this comment on the day that you sat with the little bird on your lap- it conveys such peace and kindness.

Leave a Reply

 
