A Constant Yearning

We are buried in snow out here in Washington State. I’m very grateful for the fact that I don’t have to go anywhere to work but here, in my own warm home.

I rejoice in the snowfall because I so enjoy photographing the birds in the snow. It also warms my heart and gives me a motherly feeling of unity when I watch the birds at my feeder chowing down.

There was a raccoon on my front porch last night, raiding the feeders. I’m normally not a big fan of raccoons, but with the dumping of 18″ of snow, I couldn’t help but worry about him.

I made him an almond butter sandwich and set it out for him. I hope he enjoyed the meal!

Visit Outdoors blog I keep for The Chronicle, the newspaper I freelance for, to see more photos my beautiful backyard friends, hikes along the Nisqually Delta and fishing adventures, The (Almost) Daily Bird.

Much Love to you, my Friends!

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 18, 2012.

3 Responses to “A Constant Yearning”

  1. buried along with you over here in sequim….beautiful bird…glad my feeders are full:)

  2. I’ve really been enjoying all your nature pictures – keep ’em coming!

  3. I had to look up ‘lute.’ I thought it was like an ogre or something big & warty, which made sense to me when I first read it yesterday afternoon on Bird – God holds the ugly. The words flitted through and I had to look it up. I sit well with the fact that I am warty, but the idea that I am a musical instrument has me looking like one of your birds – dodging camera. Hmmm…makes me wonder what I’m eating and what color my feathers are. Slow smiles.

    And I hope you’ve made snow angels. I miss making snow angels. So much so that I’ve made them in AL heavy frost with the children. Granted, they looked more like thick red mud angels with white highlights, but we did it.

    Warm love flying…

Leave a Reply

 
