Happy Belated Birthday, Rumi

I was working (if you can call it that!) at Sugar n’ Spice yesterday when I found out it was Rumi’s 802nd birthday, so I wasn’t able to add this post. I’m sure, being the kind of man Rumi was, he had already forgiven me…

30Rumi

And yes, that is a garbage truck and surely there is some symbolism there, but I’m not quite sure what it is. Breathe in peace, breathe out the garbage?

~ by Kimberly Mason on October 1, 2009.

4 Responses to “Happy Belated Birthday, Rumi”

  1. I saw that it was his birthday yesterday & thought of you!

  2. Love many of his wonderful quotes… happy b’day Rumi!

  3. Ha! as in Happy day to Rumi! And I think it’s breathe in garbage, breathe out peace, but don’t quote me. Great site here about such things: http://www.shambhala.org/teachers/pema/tonglen1.php (sorry, don’t know how to insert a link here).

  4. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids.

    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is
    entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

Leave a comment