The Joy of a Song Sparrow, Compassion for Those that Labor

I have a tendency to anthropomorphize God’s creatures (a quality I prefer to think of as endearing, rather than just plain crazy), but in bestowing “human” qualities on those that happen to wear fur or feathers rather then skin, or hop or fly or walk on four legs rather than two, I only add to my community and opportunities for communion.

You may be a dog or cat fan or hate both, you may be frightened by squirrels or birds, you may not care one whit for the plight of the tiger in India — but you cannot be without compassion, it is God’s commandment.

You do not have to love something or someone to have compassion, but you must Love. You must have Compassion. You must lend your strength, your power, your prayers, your labors to those that need them. To have Compassion is to invite Joy to come and stay and to live with you in the freedom and generosity of spirit that Compassion brings as its gift when you invite it to stay.

If you do not, you will never know the Joy of a Song Sparrow.

Joy is God’s greatest gift to us. How will you express your Joy today?

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 22, 2012.

4 Responses to “The Joy of a Song Sparrow, Compassion for Those that Labor”

  1. Today I will scrub and sanitize the bird feeders at my parent’s house.

  2. I definitely find joy in feathers & fur! And you my friend 🙂

  3. To have Compassion is to invite Joy to come and stay and to live with you in the freedom and generosity of spirit that Compassion brings as its gift when you invite it to stay.

    Mmmm…you’ve fed me this morning…

  4. […] The Song Sparrow is a bird I have chased around and about my backyard, trying to get just one decent photograph. I’m still working on it, but I did find a Song Sparrow of my own on the same afternoon. He is shown on my other blog, prayers for an oft traveled road. […]

Leave a Reply

 
