Day 6 of Icon Writing: I Love My Jesus

Today in icon class I darkened his brows and mustache, colored his hair a beard a bit deeper and deepened a few shadows. I also added the strokes of light to his face. I will work on the hair and beard next week, and then I will be ready for the gold.

I love my Jesus.

I love their Jesus’ too.

I discovered when I got home that I have forgotten my brushes at my teacher’s studio. That’s probably a good thing because I was feeling so confident this afternoon that I thought about tackling the beard and hair on my own this week so I would be ready for the gold leaf next week for sure.

Talk about mysterious ways! 😛

“What we would like to do is change the world — make it a little simpler for people to feed, clothe, and shelter themselves as God intended for them to do.” ~Dorothy Day, Catholic Worker, June 1946

From Day One to Day Six. Two days to go.

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 19, 2010.

5 Responses to “Day 6 of Icon Writing: I Love My Jesus”

  1. Your Jesus is pretty cool!

  2. I can’t believe how your icon came to life this week with your adding the brush strokes you did Kimberly…and to think that the change shows up so well, even on the computer!

  3. […] Gesso-ing and Preparation; Day 3 of Icon Writing; Day 4 of Icon Writing; Missing Jesus Face; Day 6 of Icon Writing: I Love My Jesus;  and this is my favorite, featuring Bernadette’s spiritual teaching, Day 7: Icon Writing […]

  4. […] Gesso-ing and Preparation; Day 3 of Icon Writing; Day 4 of Icon Writing; Missing Jesus Face; Day 6 of Icon Writing: I Love My Jesus;  and this is my favorite, featuring Bernadette’s spiritual teaching, Day 7: Icon Writing […]

Leave a comment